Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Microsoft C# Certification exam?

c# exam test prep

Best Answer Tchpowdog, 11 September 2015 - 08:35 AM

I know they have a new certification "structure" now.  The following link shows Microsoft's certification roadmap.  My guess is you would want to go the MCSD route.  But as you can see, there's several prerequisites and stuff you need.

https://www.microsof...s-road-map.html

Imo, you don't need a cert.  I don't have any certifications AND I'm self-taught.  It took me about 2 years to learn programming on my own; reading books, doing examples, etc.  After I felt I was ready, I did contract work on weekends for about 2 years for little-to-nothing JUST to build up a portfolio.  Employers in this industry LOVE portfolios, btw.  Be sure to grab screen shots of your code, applications, etc. ONLY IF your project is not under a non-disclosure agreement!  It took many interviews until a company gave me a job but I finally landed one, a nice one!  I've been here for 2 years now and I've learned ten times as much here as I did doing contract work.  Now, I could probably get a job anywhere.

But as for you, honestly, if you have a 4-year degree in Computer Science, that's all you need.  If you want certifications, get a job first and maybe they will pay for your certification and learning tools.  Some higher level positions, depending where you go, MAY require certs, but those are usually the employers who will pay for your certs.  Good luck!