Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Mathematical Concepts Useful for Programming

math

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 TwelveWings

TwelveWings

CC Lurker

• Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Learning:Java, C#, Python

Posted 20 March 2015 - 11:55 AM

Being that I am interested in being a professional programmer, I know that understanding mathematics is advantageous. I, personally, enjoy math: although I do find it difficult. With that said, I am an Information Systems major. As has been my experience, my degree program does not focus much on mathematics; the only time I ever needed to use calculus was in a statistics course. This leads me to wonder, what mathematical concepts should I be aware of that are pertinent to my intended career path? (I intend to enroll in some math classes at some point--though not in the near future, considering I am a bit exhausted of academia.)

Also, I apologize if this was the incorrect place to post this. I was torn between Members Lounge or General Programming.

Edited by TwelveWings, 20 March 2015 - 11:55 AM.

#2 BlackRabbit

BlackRabbit

CodeCall Legend

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3871 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Transact-SQL, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Java, Others

Posted 22 March 2015 - 09:44 AM

I don't think you need Math knowledge beyond the basics for being a programmer. You do need general knowledge of mathematics as a tool to know when you need one Math concept into your program, then you can choose between deepen in that specific mater, or into translate formulas into algorithms, which is pretty much it. If you can read Math enough as for translating it to code, then you don't need the specific knowledge.

Of course if you are to program things derivative from Math, like encryption, well, the more you know the better.

#3 gonzaw

gonzaw

CC Newcomer

• PipPip