Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Looking for a mate programmer or co-founder

unpaid learn java web startup mentoring project earn free opensource

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 aly

aly

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 02 February 2015 - 06:28 AM

Hi
My name is Alex. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience with Windows desktop platform (C++, then C#). Although for the last few years I"ve been working in a leadership position and haven"t been coding at work, in my free time I learn Java technology stack (started with Spring, Hibernate, JSP etc) and web technologies. 

Since it is always more effective to learn in a real project, I was looking forward to join an opensource project. But finally I came up with an idea of a product or service that would leverage the technology stack I am learning and can potentially be a source of income. 

At the moment, I already created the backend that does all business logic and a simple frontend that utilizes its functionality and hosted it on RedHat cloud (JBoss 7). The next steps as I see them is to productize the solution back-end and design the company web site that would provide paid access to the service. 

Why am I posting here?

1. While learning technologies all alone I sometimes doubt I'm doing things right. I like to stick with effective solutions and not to invent a bicycle. As for C# which I know very well, sometimes I help younger developers to avoid mistakes that I went through before.
2. Since I am new to the technology stack, my performance may be not high enough to bring a solution into production quickly.
3. Web stuff is embarrassing me. It seems one needs to have a specific mindset in order to develop for web. When I develop Web I feel like crawling through debris blindfolded, so a co-developer with Web experience would help.