Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

New programmer need advice on where to begin!

advice where to begin help programming windows

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 Comatose

Comatose

CC Lurker

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 December 2014 - 04:45 AM

Hey everyone I've just recently discovered my love for programming and I'm now looking to pursue it as a career. I have no idea where to begin, currently I'm a college student completing my prerequisite calculus/science courses before I can begin taking courses to get my degree in computer science. In the mean time I want to teach myself everything I can and begin making my own projects. I began coding on CodeAcademy almost a month ago and just completed the JavaScript lesson however I now have no idea what to do. What I would love to do is begin making games/apps as fun projects for iPhones and projects along those lines. I found a book Objective - C Programming The Big Nerd Ranch Guide and I feel it's the perfect book for a beginner in the direction I'm looking to go but it requires XCode to follow along and I have windows  :( . From my research thus far I've read C/C++/Java are the languages that are best to learn when starting out. What should I do, what books should I read, what programs should I use (visual studio?), what youtube videos can I watch?

- I'm a beginner programmer with a very basic knowledge of JavaScript 

- Looking to learn game/app development

- Have no idea what differentiates all the programming languages apart

- Run Windows operating system

I'm very excited to start programming and more than ready to start reading/coding hours a day to become a great programmer. Any advice on where I couldgo from here /anything programming would be great. I'd really appreciate any help, thanks in advance!!!

#2 lespauled

lespauled