Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Please point me in the right direction

advice new program

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic

#1 snarble

snarble

CC Lurker

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 04 December 2014 - 08:35 PM

Hi all,

I have no experience but I am looking to make a program (mainly for my own amusement and use) and need to know which programming language or software you would recommend to make it.

Esentially, I want to make a program for data analysis that has rows/columns to enter my data, just like one would in excel/spss, but that also has a menu on the side so I can make a table (or tables) with the information I want (descriptive stats (mean, median, sd, etc.), correlations, etc.) for which ever variables I choose via check boxes.

So for example, I could have all of my variables check boxes clicked and the mean check box to only see the means for each variable, but then if I am interested in the median I can select that check box and the table will update to now include the median. I would just code in the math to caluclate these things if the language/software to make it didn't have a way of doing the math automatically (like I said I have no knowledge whatsoever in this kind of thing). If the program would be too hard to make that actually had the spreadsheet like area to enter in the data, I would be fine with having my data in an excel spreadsheet and the program taking the data from there.

Hopefully what I am wanting to do makes sense. Any recommendations would be very helpfully.

Thanks for your time!

#2 Blimp

Blimp

CC Addict

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 199 posts

Posted 05 December 2014 - 02:14 AM

Hi snarble,

Welcome to CC!

This all depends on whether you'd like to make it web based, desktop based, mobile based, or... uh... something else based!