Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Strong Mathematics background Useful?

math discrete programming student helpful triple major

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 DrWallFlower

DrWallFlower

CC Lurker

• Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Programming Language:Java, Objective-C, C#, Visual Basic .NET
  • Learning:C++, PHP

Posted 10 February 2014 - 12:36 PM

Hey everyone, I'm new to the CC, reading through all of this and I really like the community.

I'm a COMP Sci student who started at Texas Christian, then moved up to Iowa (because who can beat the living prices here?)

I've already earned my Software Development degree and now I'm earning my second degree in Numerical Computing.

I was wondering if any of you guys would advocate taking the 2 extra math courses to get my Mathematics degree as well. I'm very much on the fence on this idea because I don't know if a mathematics degree will help a ton (i know it would help a little) in finding something I really enjoy doing. With a numerical computing degree, I just don't see it completely necessary. Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated. 

-

D-Wall

#2 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

A spammer's worst nightmare

• 17757 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 10 February 2014 - 05:11 PM