Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

What to do next?

career life

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 JackPippin

JackPippin

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 December 2013 - 03:09 PM

I have been producing things in PCs for 10 years. First web design, then programming, a while back SEO. Now I don't know what to do next.

I made more then $1 million from a few websites thanks to God. Got a few national awards in competitions. In past my motivation was money or interest but now its not.

After begin computer science in university, I realized that I am not really enjoying programming or learning programming. I enjoy producing things that are valuable or big. I enjoy the process of producing and seeing the outcome I guess. I don't like learning programming related things for the sake of programming.

When I need to do achieve something in my project, I search about it and I learn how to reach to that. Either I do it myself or find someone else's work and apply it. I don't care about programming itself.

I think this is because I realized that if I start a career as software engineer, the company I work for will make much more money than I do from my work. Meanwhile I do the hard work for them. They will just manage me, set deadlines, provide safe and fun environment etc. but the bigger piece of the pie will belong to them. 

Also, I will think my ** off for little details that doesn't matter in the big picture. But if I use my energy on bringing the parts together instead of working on little details I feel like outcome for me will be much more great. I don't know if this is a delusion or not :)

Considering that I can't just be happy programming, and I don't know where to go.