Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Whats your setup/OS preference?

hardware os setup

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

Poll: Whats your setup/OS preference? (15 member(s) have cast votes)

Which OS do you primarily use?

  1. Windows XP/7/8 (8 votes [53.33%])

    Percentage of vote: 53.33%

  2. OSX (1 votes [6.67%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.67%

  3. Ubuntu (1 votes [6.67%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.67%

  4. Other linux distro (4 votes [26.67%])

    Percentage of vote: 26.67%

  5. Other (specify in post) (1 votes [6.67%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.67%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Patton

Patton

    CC Regular

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Programming Language:Java, Assembly
  • Learning:C++, Python, Lisp, Prolog

Posted 12 November 2013 - 10:37 AM

Hello everyone i'm Patton.. i joined codecall today and you can find my introduction in the appropriate forum.

 

I think a cool thing for us to discuss is our hardware setup and also we can vote to see the most common OS amongs the active members.

 

So i'll start it off..

 

I have a few computers.

 

I have an ASUS K55n with Ubuntu installed:

  • AMD A-Series A8-4500M(1.90GHz)
  • 4GB Memory 500GB HDD (thinking about upgrading to 8GB soon)
  • AMD Radeon HD 7640G
  • 1366 x 768

I use it primarily for my java programming and it hasn't failed me yet :D

 

I also have a macbook pro 2010 which i use for some STEAM gaming which

currently my favorite is Hotline Miami...it never gets old.

  • i5 intel dual core processor
  • 4GB Memory
  • High-res screen
  • 300GB HDD

 

 

 


Edited by Patton, 12 November 2013 - 10:37 AM.

  • 0

Todays lucky numbers: 4-8-15-16-23-42


#2 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

    A spammer's worst nightmare

  • Moderator
  • 17757 posts
  • Location:Upstate, South Carolina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 12 November 2013 - 10:49 AM

Work is a macbook pro, but at home I spend 99.9% of my time in Ubuntu. I rarely desire to switch to the Windows 7 side.


  • 0

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/


#3 0xFACEB004

0xFACEB004

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 625 posts
  • Location:Chicago
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, PHP, (Visual) Basic, JavaScript, Visual Basic .NET, Others
  • Learning:Assembly, Others

Posted 12 November 2013 - 01:42 PM

I code on an older:

  • Asetek cooled AMD Phenom II X4 955BE (overclocked @ 3.8Ghz per core from my FSX and music production days)
  • 12GB Kingston DDR3-1600
  • Nvidia GTS 250 1GB
  • 2TB of SATA storage (and 1 hot swappable bay)
  • OS is Windosw 7 64bit --  but I am thinking more and more about moving to some flavor of Linux, as I boot to Ubuntu from a USB drive whenever I have a problem.

  • 0

                                                                                                                                                                            FACEB00K Likes this.


#4 0xDEADBEEF

0xDEADBEEF

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 790 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, C#, (Visual) Basic, Perl, Transact-SQL, Bash, Prolog, Others
  • Learning:Others

Posted 12 November 2013 - 02:09 PM

Currently got:

 

Intel Core i5-3470 CPU @ 3.2 GHz

16Gb RAM

Win7 64bit

500Gb disk (don't need much more)

NVidia GeForce GT610

 

I also run an Ubuntu virtual machine. I don't spend that much time on my home machine so Win7 does me just fine.


  • 0

Creating SEGFAULTs since 1995.


#5 ShayneTThiessen

ShayneTThiessen

    CC Newcomer

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Programming Language:C#, PHP
  • Learning:Java, C++

Posted 12 November 2013 - 07:44 PM

Windows 7 64bit

8gb ram

Pentium Dual Core CPU @ 2.5ghz

Nvidia Geforce G210

750GB drive

500GB external drive

3TB external drive

Almost all my drives are completely full.... :/ Time to get another one I suppose.

I also have two 21 inch monitors.


  • 0

_____________________________________________________________________ <-- My one line signature


#6 ikstream

ikstream

    CC Newcomer

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Programming Language:C, Java, Python, Assembly
  • Learning:C++, PHP, Ruby, Bash, Others

Posted 13 November 2013 - 09:51 AM

Arch Linux machine at home with

4gb ram

Pentium Core 2Duo @ 3 GHz

Nvidia GTX680

3TB drive


  • 0

#7 GeorgeW

GeorgeW

    CC Resident

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:in the wop wops, New Zealand
  • Programming Language:C#, (Visual) Basic, Visual Basic .NET, VBScript, Others
  • Learning:C, C++

Posted 13 November 2013 - 10:31 AM

Sony VPCEJ25FG Laptop

Windows 7 64bit

8gb ram

Pentium  i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz, 

Nvidia Geforce 410M

5000GB drive

 

 


  • 0

#8 tavich

tavich

    CC Addict

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 399 posts
  • Location:Delaware
  • Programming Language:C#
  • Learning:C++, PHP, JavaScript

Posted 13 November 2013 - 10:41 AM

Surpised to see no gaming rigs on here...until now :P

 

Windows 8 64 Bit

16GB of RAM

AMD 8350 8 Core @ 4.02ghz

(EVGA) nVidia GTX 660 TI Superclocked

2TB Hard Drive

800W Coolermaster Power Supply


Edited by Thryckz, 13 November 2013 - 10:41 AM.

  • 0
Send a like my way if I helped you or if you found my post useful or even just enjoyed reading my post.
Thank you :)

#9 0xFACEB004

0xFACEB004

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 625 posts
  • Location:Chicago
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, PHP, (Visual) Basic, JavaScript, Visual Basic .NET, Others
  • Learning:Assembly, Others

Posted 13 November 2013 - 01:29 PM

Surpised to see no gaming rigs on here...until now :P

 

Windows 8 64 Bit

16GB of RAM

AMD 8350 8 Core @ 4.02ghz

(EVGA) nVidia GTX 660 TI Superclocked

2TB Hard Drive

800W Coolermaster Power Supply

 

Mine was a gaming rig...3 years ago lol


  • 1

                                                                                                                                                                            FACEB00K Likes this.


#10 BlackRabbit

BlackRabbit

    CodeCall Legend

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3871 posts
  • Location:Argentina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Transact-SQL, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Java, Others

Posted 13 November 2013 - 08:16 PM

Would you believe I had no idea what hardware I own?

so I, in a lazy fashion checked on the task manager and found out my computer has four processors, and 4GB of RAM, I also remember I bought it like 2 or 3 years ago, and it's and AMD, beyond that... the unknown...

 

Then what came to my mind was, it's logical not to know a thing about your hardware until it starts coming short, since I've never suffered any kind of performance shortage I didn't really paid attention to the hardware. Weird, isn't it?


  • 0

#11 ShayneTThiessen

ShayneTThiessen

    CC Newcomer

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
  • Programming Language:C#, PHP
  • Learning:Java, C++

Posted 13 November 2013 - 08:56 PM

Would you believe I had no idea what hardware I own?

so I, in a lazy fashion checked on the task manager and found out my computer has four processors, and 4GB of RAM, I also remember I bought it like 2 or 3 years ago, and it's and AMD, beyond that... the unknown...

 

Then what came to my mind was, it's logical not to know a thing about your hardware until it starts coming short, since I've never suffered any kind of performance shortage I didn't really paid attention to the hardware. Weird, isn't it?

That's very weird... Though I do admit, I had to check what kind of video card I have....


  • 0

_____________________________________________________________________ <-- My one line signature


#12 Patton

Patton

    CC Regular

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Programming Language:Java, Assembly
  • Learning:C++, Python, Lisp, Prolog

Posted 14 November 2013 - 09:34 AM

Surpised to see no gaming rigs on here...until now :P

 

Windows 8 64 Bit

16GB of RAM

AMD 8350 8 Core @ 4.02ghz

(EVGA) nVidia GTX 660 TI Superclocked

2TB Hard Drive

800W Coolermaster Power Supply

dude....nice setup! +Envy


  • 0

Todays lucky numbers: 4-8-15-16-23-42






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: hardware, os, setup

Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download