Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

A Dice Roller Linked With An Image Generator

generator image images mac osx os x

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
4 replies to this topic

#1 TylerLinden

TylerLinden

CC Lurker

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 09 November 2013 - 11:25 PM

To start, I'd like to say that I have no programming experience or knowledge (except for an extremely small amount of Java). I'm posting because I really don't know how or where to start this. I'll try to explain everything in as much detail as I can. Another note, I'm wanting to make this an application for Mac OSX Mavericks. What language should I use? What Program should I use? Are there any visual editors (like Visual Basic) for Mac.

Here's the idea:

This program simulates a card game. There are 73 cards, each with a regular effect and a chaos effect. Each turn the player may roll a die. If they roll a blank side nothing changes. If they roll the chaos side the chaos affect is activated but the card doesn't change. If they player rolls the cycle side, the card is shuffled back with the 73 other cards and another one is chosen. Rinse and repeat.

Here's what the program does:

I'm wanting to make something that randomly displays 1 of 73 images (JPGs). There will be a button that says "roll." The roll will simulate a 6 sided die, randomly generating a number between 1 and 6, but instead of displaying the number it display some text that would disappear when clicking anywhere besides the "roll" button. Numbers 1-4 would display "Blank," 5 would display "Chaos," and 6 would randomly generate another 1 of the 73 images to replace the current one.

Any advice, code, or anything like that would be really helpful.

Thanks in advance,

Tyler

Edited by TylerLinden, 09 November 2013 - 11:42 PM.

#2 gregwarner

gregwarner

Obi Wan of Programming