Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Passing PHP session variables to a Jquery/Ajax script.

jquery ajax php session help .js js javascript

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic

#1 elliottveares

elliottveares

CC Resident

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 56 posts

Posted 15 October 2013 - 02:03 PM

Hi all; while I have used basic JavaScript and PHP before; I am totally new to Jquery and Ajax.

Scenario: I have a html form on my site what has traditionally been directly processed with a PHP that incorporates sessions to limit how often the form can be submitted.

I have since updated the form to be posted through a Jquery/Ajax script so that the form can be posted without a refresh for the user; and it works . (I used and adapted this tutorial to suite my needs: http://net.tutsplus....h-using-jquery/)

However what I am trying to do is to get the session variables output from my PHP script and use them in my Jquey/Ajax script so that I can use them with a IF/ELSE statement to determine if the form will be processed or whether the user will be redirected in the same way the PHP script works. So far i have tried what this article suggested (http://stackoverflow...ing-jquery-ajax); but I just get a blank output from the html page what references my JQuery script and the main Jquery file on my server.

I also would like if possible to have a way of limiting how often the form can be submitted without using sessions, so that if  a users cookies are deleted; the form still wont be able to be re submitted by that user until the time is up. It also must not be IP specific in the sense that multiple users/clients on 1 IP address must all be treated individually (i.e. in business environment where 1 IP is shared across multiple devices.)  

My PHP Script

<?php

if(empty($_POST['Message']))