Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Hiring a good Graphic Designer / Web Designer

graphic design web design hire

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Pally

Pally

CC Devotee

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, PHP, Python, PL/SQL, Assembly
  • Learning:C++, C#, Lisp, Scheme

Posted 05 October 2013 - 07:54 AM

In this thread I am seeking advice regarding the processes of hiring someone to do graphic design & web design, I will explain why I am experiencing some frustration in the process and would appreciate your advice in the matters. I will begin by setting the scene...

I recently started my own business, so recently that I am currently in the process of building my website which will be my starting point for operating as the primary point of contact with my customers.

As a developer myself I am writing all of the back-end code for my website, this involves the server side processing and database code.

So this is where the problems starts, should I also design the front end or hire someone to do it for me.

I could design the front end of my website however I am not the best at creating professional looking CSS, and good looking graphic design is not part of my skillset.

I could definitely do a simple front end for the website but I feel since the site will be my primary contact point I should go over the top and create a strong brand image.

So I did some google searching and the web design business is loaded with competition I don't know where to start since their are too many options and it seems to be an industry where you contact someone and wait around for a quote to come back that over your limit which makes it frustrating.