Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Topics

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Why is American Internet slow?

internet

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Pally

Pally

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, PHP, Python, PL/SQL, Assembly
  • Learning:C++, C#, Lisp, Scheme

Posted 27 July 2013 - 04:47 PM

I heard south korea gets speeds of 4gbps, wish I had internet this fast, why is America so slow and/or why are some countries have significantly faster internet?

 

Thank you!


  • 0
Your Friendly Neighborhood Pally

#2 0xFACEB004

0xFACEB004

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 625 posts
  • Location:Chicago
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, PHP, (Visual) Basic, JavaScript, Visual Basic .NET, Others
  • Learning:Assembly, Others

Posted 28 July 2013 - 06:55 AM

I have wondered this very same thing! When I told a friend in Hungary that I am getting almost 23Mbps (I pay for 25Mbps), she asked what was wrong with my connection!?

 

Why is it so slow in the US compared to the rest of the developed world?


  • 0

                                                                                                                                                                            FACEB00K Likes this.


#3 JustAlex10

JustAlex10

    CC Regular

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Sibiu, Romania
  • Programming Language:PHP, JavaScript, Others
  • Learning:Java, C++, C#, Others

Posted 28 July 2013 - 06:56 AM

Maybe it is because the population is bigger than others.


  • 0

You can understand the code, but you can't understand the world.


#4 Pally

Pally

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, PHP, Python, PL/SQL, Assembly
  • Learning:C++, C#, Lisp, Scheme

Posted 28 July 2013 - 07:55 AM

Maybe it is because the population is bigger than others.

Hong Kong and Japan have fasters speeds so if anything I believe it would have to do with older technology being the foundation of USA internet?

 

http://www.netindex....d/allcountries/


  • 0
Your Friendly Neighborhood Pally

#5 0xFACEB004

0xFACEB004

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 625 posts
  • Location:Chicago
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, PHP, (Visual) Basic, JavaScript, Visual Basic .NET, Others
  • Learning:Assembly, Others

Posted 28 July 2013 - 08:08 AM

Maybe it is because the population is bigger than others.

 

I could see that being a problem for shared bandwidth in densely populated areas, but Tokyo has faster speeds than US and and an even more dense population.


  • 0

                                                                                                                                                                            FACEB00K Likes this.


#6 BenW

BenW

    CC Devotee

  • Community Manager
  • 976 posts
  • Programming Language:ActionScript
  • Learning:ActionScript

Posted 28 July 2013 - 09:20 PM

Dense population makes it easier and more cost effective to put the infrastructure in place for fast speeds. In the USA, everyone is miles away from everywhere else... a few cities have a reputation for being crowded, but mostly there's long distances to get anywhere.


  • 1

fss_overall.png

 


#7 Pally

Pally

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, PHP, Python, PL/SQL, Assembly
  • Learning:C++, C#, Lisp, Scheme

Posted 29 July 2013 - 03:50 AM

Dense population makes it easier and more cost effective to put the infrastructure in place for fast speeds. In the USA, everyone is miles away from everywhere else... a few cities have a reputation for being crowded, but mostly there's long distances to get anywhere.

I wanna get verison FIOS

 

it looks faster than t3 depending on which package you get of course...

 

any faster alternatives this is best I could find :D


  • 0
Your Friendly Neighborhood Pally

#8 0xDEADBEEF

0xDEADBEEF

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 790 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, C#, (Visual) Basic, Perl, Transact-SQL, Bash, Prolog, Others
  • Learning:Others

Posted 29 July 2013 - 06:04 AM

The issue in the UK is that the infrastructure is old and therefore more costly to replace. Every home has a phone line, but its the old copper wire type, When putting in new infrastructure you can make newer decisions; partly being there first means you're last to change.


  • 0

Creating SEGFAULTs since 1995.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: internet

Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download