Recent Status Updates

• Photo
      18 Aug
    KodeKool

When faced with a wall of errors and no hope to fix them, remember the following "Programs always do what you tell them to, and seldom what you want them to, but eventually you'll run out of things that can go wrong and it'll just work. and that's the secret to good programming."

Show comments (2)
View All Updates

Developed by Kemal Taskin
Photo
- - - - -

Link Domain Name to Website on Server Windows / IIS

iis windows server website domain name

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
12 replies to this topic

#1 Barnsite

Barnsite

CC Addict

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 234 posts

Posted 05 March 2013 - 03:09 AM

Hi,

I'm sure this is a fairly basic request, but I'm struggling to find the answer (I'm a developer not an administrator!!).

I have a server with IP address 123.45.67.891 (not actual address)

On the server I have an ASP.net website http://123.45.67.891/MyNiceWebSite/

I also have a domain name: www.MyDomainName.co.uk

How do I set it up so that www.MyDomainName.co.uk goes to http://123.45.67.891/MyNiceWebSite/

I think I need to do some changes to the DNS for the domain name, but I can't find out exactly what to change and what to.

Server is Windows 2008 r2 with IIS7, I have access to Advanced DNS set up for the domain name...

Any help much appreciated!

There are two ways to write error-free programs; only the third one works.

#2 WingedPanther

WingedPanther

A spammer's worst nightmare

• 16,993 posts

Posted 05 March 2013 - 07:43 AM

You would register the Domain name www.MyDomainName.co.uk as going to 123.45.67.891. Then your website would be http://123.45.67891/MyNiceWebSite/

You could put a redirect on http://123.45.67.891 to http://123.45.67891/MyNiceWebSite/ for ease of use :)

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/

#3 BenW

BenW