Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

.h vs .cpp - When to use them?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 tavichh

tavichh

CC Addict

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 399 posts
  • Programming Language:C#
  • Learning:C++, PHP, JavaScript

Posted 04 November 2012 - 03:27 PM

I just started learning C++, the tutorial I watched does not explain exactly when to use them so yea, can someone please tell me when I should have a header file and when I should have a pre-processer?

Or better yet, can someone describe to me in plain English what exactly it is? I am that early in learning C++ :)

I believe a pre-processer is like:
#include whatever.h
but what's confusing me is that its an entire file in this case.
So yea, please help!
Send a like my way if I helped you or if you found my post useful or even just enjoyed reading my post.
Thank you :)

#2 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

A spammer's worst nightmare

• 17757 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 04 November 2012 - 03:48 PM

The preprocessor is part of the compiler, it merges files together when it runs into #include directives. The .h file is the code to be included. The result is something like this:

You run the compiler on your .cpp file. The preprocessor looks at the contents, and substitutes out any #include with the contents of the referenced file, as well as replacing any macros.

The resulting (temporary) file is then run through the compiler, which converts it to byte code. This is then run through the linker, which turns it into an executable file.

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/

#3 tavichh

tavichh

CC Addict

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 399 posts