Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Tips and Advice

tips advice programming new study c++ python basics

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Alcamech

Alcamech

CC Addict

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Programming Language:Python
  • Learning:C, Java, C++, C#, Python, JavaScript

Posted 08 October 2012 - 05:10 PM

Ive been studying programming for quite some time now , being self-taught through resources and books . Ive been studying off and on in codeacademy , a python programming book and another book for C++ . As well as a little Javascript. But I would like to know if there is any tips or advice anyone could give me for learning programming , keeping in mind im basically still a newbie to this . Ive got to know basic stuff like strings , characters , true and false values , variables , if and then statements . The pretty easy fundamental stuff for programming . Any suggestions to help me become a better programmer , or learn faster .

#2 Luthfi

Luthfi

CC Leader

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1320 posts
  • Programming Language:PHP, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL
  • Learning:C, Java, PHP

Posted 08 October 2012 - 06:39 PM

Pick an interesting project and learn while developing it. Always works with me. :)

#3 VNFox

VNFox

CC Devotee

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Programming Language:C#, PHP
  • Learning:Assembly

Posted 08 October 2012 - 08:09 PM

Analyze the problem before start coding

www.pickmike.com
I don't just develop software. I find solutions to your business needs.

#4 BenW

BenW

CC Devotee

• Community Manager
  • 976 posts
  • Programming Language:ActionScript
  • Learning:ActionScript

Posted 09 October 2012 - 04:16 AM