Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

visual basic newbie

visual basic 4 / 5 / 6

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 HarryRecon

HarryRecon

    CC Lurker

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, Objective-C, C#, PHP, (Visual) Basic, Python, JavaScript, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Visual Basic .NET, Pascal, VBScript
  • Learning:C, Java, C++, Objective-C, C#, PHP, (Visual) Basic, Python, JavaScript, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Visual Basic .NET, Pascal, VBScript

Posted 05 October 2012 - 10:14 PM

Hey guys,

I'm just started studying programming
so how am I going to start first??
  • 0

#2 VNFox

VNFox

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Programming Language:C#, PHP
  • Learning:Assembly

Posted 05 October 2012 - 10:48 PM

First you need to download Visual Basic ... and try to write a hello World application.
  • 1

www.pickmike.com
I don't just develop software. I find solutions to your business needs.


#3 BlackRabbit

BlackRabbit

    CodeCall Legend

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3871 posts
  • Location:Argentina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Transact-SQL, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Java, Others

Posted 06 October 2012 - 04:44 AM

if you wonder what can you do in order to practice visit our visual basic tutorials section and take advantage from our fellow coders knowledge.

First you need to download Visual Basic ... and try to write a hello World application.


Take that advice, plus VNFox, plus get to know the Visual Basic's IDE and just give it gas!
  • 1

#4 VNFox

VNFox

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Programming Language:C#, PHP
  • Learning:Assembly

Posted 08 October 2012 - 01:32 PM

Any progress? The journey begins with first step :)
  • 1

www.pickmike.com
I don't just develop software. I find solutions to your business needs.


#5 HarryRecon

HarryRecon

    CC Lurker

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, Objective-C, C#, PHP, (Visual) Basic, Python, JavaScript, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Visual Basic .NET, Pascal, VBScript
  • Learning:C, Java, C++, Objective-C, C#, PHP, (Visual) Basic, Python, JavaScript, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Visual Basic .NET, Pascal, VBScript

Posted 10 October 2012 - 08:54 AM

yes....thank you so much guys...

this is my latest work progress using turbo c++ at my faculty lab:


#include<stdio.h>
void main()

{
char name[20], IC[20], matric[20], Subcode[20], Subname[20];

printf("\nPlease enter your name : ");gets (name);
printf("\nPlease enter your I/C number : ");gets (IC);
printf("\nPlease enter your matric number : ");gets (matric);
printf("\nPlease enter your subject code : ");gets(Subcode);
printf("\nPlease enter your subject name : ");gets(Subname);
printf("\nName : ");puts(name);
printf("\nI/C : ");puts(IC);
printf("\nMatric number : ");puts(matric);
printf("\nSubject code : ");puts(Subcode);
printf("\nSubject name : ");puts(Subname);
}

my pc does not support turboc++. Why?
window7 64bit

Edited by HarryRecon, 11 October 2012 - 10:02 PM.
Added code tags

  • 0

#6 VNFox

VNFox

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Programming Language:C#, PHP
  • Learning:Assembly

Posted 12 October 2012 - 04:45 PM

I guess you either need to update your software or try it with Visual studio. Why do you have to use Turbo C++, and your code is not VB ... but C++
  • 1

www.pickmike.com
I don't just develop software. I find solutions to your business needs.


#7 HarryRecon

HarryRecon

    CC Lurker

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, Objective-C, C#, PHP, (Visual) Basic, Python, JavaScript, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Visual Basic .NET, Pascal, VBScript
  • Learning:C, Java, C++, Objective-C, C#, PHP, (Visual) Basic, Python, JavaScript, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Visual Basic .NET, Pascal, VBScript

Posted 13 October 2012 - 05:25 PM

im now study c before c++ and use turboc++ as a compiler in my uni lab. The problem is the turbo c++ does not support my computer which is window7 64bit. So i have to use visual basic 6.0 as a compiler.
  • 0

#8 Colanth

Colanth

    CC Addict

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Location:Fayetteville, NC, USA
  • Programming Language:PHP, (Visual) Basic, JavaScript, Visual Basic .NET, Pascal, Logo, Assembly, VBScript, Others

Posted 14 October 2012 - 04:16 PM

You can use Microsoft's version of C++ on your computer, so you don't have to learn a new language yet. (There's a free version.)
  • 1

#9 BlackRabbit

BlackRabbit

    CodeCall Legend

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3871 posts
  • Location:Argentina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Transact-SQL, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Java, Others

Posted 15 October 2012 - 10:55 AM

In that case i think you should download good old code::blocks IDE, it works on 64 bits W7. so you at least will have a proper c/c++ ide in your machine, i bet you miss intellisense :D
  • 1

#10 HarryRecon

HarryRecon

    CC Lurker

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, Objective-C, C#, PHP, (Visual) Basic, Python, JavaScript, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Visual Basic .NET, Pascal, VBScript
  • Learning:C, Java, C++, Objective-C, C#, PHP, (Visual) Basic, Python, JavaScript, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Visual Basic .NET, Pascal, VBScript

Posted 20 October 2012 - 08:48 PM

In that case i think you should download good old code::blocks IDE, it works on 64 bits W7. so you at least will have a proper c/c++ ide in your machine, i bet you miss intellisense :D


heard of that before.. thanks

I recently use visual c++ 6.0 but does'nt work properly on my computer. Is it because of 64bit version?
  • 0

#11 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

    A spammer's worst nightmare

  • Moderator
  • 17757 posts
  • Location:Upstate, South Carolina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 21 October 2012 - 06:38 AM

VC++ 6 is extremely old. It's possible it's not compatible with Windows Vista/7.
  • 0

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: visual basic 4 / 5 / 6

Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download