Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Important Programming languages

import

• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Amaterasu

Amaterasu

CC Lurker

• Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Programming Language:Java
  • Learning:C, C++, Python, JavaScript, Ruby, Assembly, Others

Posted 04 October 2012 - 02:26 PM

Hey Guys. I wish to ensue programming as a career. I do not know which branch such as game design or software engineering I want to go into, but what languages are important for all prgrammers to know. I am a Sophomore in highschool so I have some time to learn. I am also posting this because I know of other people who are in the same boat. Thanks You guys.

#2 BenW

BenW

CC Devotee

• Community Manager
  • 976 posts
  • Programming Language:ActionScript
  • Learning:ActionScript

Posted 04 October 2012 - 02:33 PM

I don't think there's any language that's more important than others to learn - pick what you want to be able to do, then the language to suit.

Many people start with a C variant or Java, but it's not essential to do. If you're more interested in web programming, PHP might be a better bet. If you just want to learn general programming techniques, it doesn't matter much what you pick, because many of the skills will transfer to other languages.

fss_overall.png

#3 Chall

Chall

CC Addict

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 349 posts
  • Learning:C, Java, C++, C#, Python, JavaScript, Assembly

Posted 04 October 2012 - 02:35 PM

Dude, we are like the same person. The only things different are the Avatar, your "Languages learning", and some other more personal stuff.