Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Derek needs help! penny for your thoughts

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Opcode

Opcode

CC Resident

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 87 posts
  • Learning:C, C++, (Visual) Basic, Python

Posted 22 September 2012 - 01:44 PM

So i'm going to do my best to keep this short and sweet and i'm sure you guys get this ALOT so i'm gunna try and get straight to the point. Im new at all this and i've done quite alot of backround reading on programming and i am the type of person who can stick at something and keep pushing at something until I learn no matter how intimidating or hard it seems, basically i'm not a quiter and dont give up easy. I'm starting college soon and not sure what courses to pick in regards to this type of field. I have dabbled with a little PHP and some basic java stuff in eclipse now what i'm looking to do with programming i'm not entirely sure yet as it there is not 1 main goal I want to achieve because it seems with this type of thing the possibilities are almost endless and there is ALWAYS something to be learned. The idea of creating my own applications, programs ,tools and games appeals to me very much and I know I cannot learn it all at once. When it comes to this type of work i think to myself "jack of all trades master of none" and "Rome was not built in a day" so my questions are the following:

1. Would it be wiser to pickup 1 programming language first and stick to it and hammer at it for weeks and weeks rather than muddying the waters with multiple at once?
2. Since I want to do lots of things with programming which language do you guys suggest I start with and whats the best way to do so?
3. As i mentioned above I plan on picking my college courses around computers and programming so i geuss what languges are the best to get me started and set me up to learn multiple?