Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

what topic to choose in computer science

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 bench45

bench45

CC Lurker

• Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Programming Language:C
  • Learning:C

Posted 20 September 2012 - 05:03 AM

Hi I am currently studying computer science at uni, i have to pick either web and mobile development or advanced programming. in web and mobile they teach us jsp and android, in advanced programming we learn the more advanced concepts of java. i am confused as to which topic to pick, pleas could someone advise me on what to pick

#2 BenW

BenW

CC Devotee

• Community Manager
  • 976 posts
  • Programming Language:ActionScript
  • Learning:ActionScript

Posted 20 September 2012 - 06:59 AM

Hi Bench, welcome to the forum!

I don't think we can pick for you - this could affect your entire career! Which are you more interested in developing with? What do you want to be using your programming knowledge for after college? :)

fss_overall.png

#3 bench45

bench45

CC Lurker

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 September 2012 - 02:34 PM

thanks for the reply , i am intrested in both the topics but have no real idea on what to do after college. If basing my decision on demand, Which topic would have greater demand?

#4 BlackRabbit

BlackRabbit

CodeCall Legend

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3871 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Transact-SQL, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Java, Others

Posted 20 September 2012 - 05:54 PM

Bench,
I don't think that choosing by demand would make you happy in the future.