Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Why use VB6 or VB.NET?

Visual Basic 4 / 5 / 6 VB.NET c++ C# c++

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Zer033x

Zer033x

CC Resident

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Programming Language:C++, C#, Lua
  • Learning:C++, C#, JavaScript, Lua, Others

Posted 14 August 2012 - 06:34 PM

Hi everyone, I am just wondering why people use VB6 over say C# or C++? I am primarily a C++ programmer and have dabbled in C# a bit. Just curious of the main differences that would make a company/person decide to use VB6 over some of these other languages. Is VB6 particularly good at a certain type of programming? Is it easy? Etc. Thanks.

#2 BlackRabbit

BlackRabbit

CodeCall Legend

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3871 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Transact-SQL, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Java, Others

Posted 14 August 2012 - 11:34 PM

Zero,
VB6 is very easy and does not require much knowledge or structure to make simple things as forms and reports, c# or VB.NET are even better but requires OOP knowledge

#3 ertan

ertan

CC Newcomer

• PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 15 August 2012 - 02:37 AM

agree blackrabbit and it needs big framework.. :) vb6 has very big problem in win 7 (sometimes it doesnt work) and I believe that programs which created in vb6 will not work in win 8. I remember that Microsoft stopped supporting vb6 for new windows OS (I am not sure but I think that I read an article about tht)

in my opinion, you may focus on .net programming (vb.net or c#.net which supports 100% object oriented programming )

#4 VNFox

VNFox

CC Devotee

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 648 posts
  • Programming Language:C#, PHP
  • Learning:Assembly

Posted 15 August 2012 - 09:12 AM