Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Database Sorting

sql database

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 greengohome

greengohome

CC Lurker

• Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Programming Language:C++
  • Learning:C#

Posted 21 July 2012 - 02:18 AM

Hello, everyone! I am a complete newbie to SQL Databases and I need some help.

I am trying to create a table in which each item can relate to one or more other items in the table.

For example:

ID Word Flags
1 a 2
2 b 1,3
3 c 1,2,4
4 d 2,3

This would mean that word a is related to word b; word b is related to words a and c; and so on.

What I do not know is how to write those flags in the database so that I can easily sort them by any of the flags. For example, requesting words related to word c would return b and d, as they both have flag 3.

Now, I really wonder which is the best way to achieve this. Should I just write all flags in a text string separated by commas? Or should I add a new column every time a word receives a new "flag"? Or perhaps you could think of a more convenient way of storing this data?

Thank you in advance. If I haven't been clear enough, please, ask me to rephrase :)

#2 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

A spammer's worst nightmare

• 17757 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 21 July 2012 - 09:01 AM

I would create a second table, relation_flags, to store the relations. Each record would just be two IDs that are related.

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/

#3 BlackRabbit

BlackRabbit

CodeCall Legend

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3871 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Transact-SQL, Bash, Others