Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Visual C++ Rs-232 Communication Incoming String Analysis Using .net

string

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 KunLin

KunLin

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, Visual Basic .NET
  • Learning:C++, Visual Basic .NET

Posted 28 June 2012 - 08:49 AM

DISCLAIMER: I am self-teaching VC++ without a textbook (I have prior knowledge of C and limited understanding of C++), just through trial and error and browsing online resources (forums, tutorials), this is my first time ever posting in one. I have been having trouble with analysis of strings, this may seem like a very simple problem I am asking but I would greatly appreciate any help or pointers towards the right drection.

Background: I am writing a program to communicate with a Keyence CV-551 (you don't have to know what that is) using RS-232 protocol through the serial port. I have managed to successfully read and write with the machine however I am not sure how to go about analysing the strings that are being returned to me.