Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Does Virtual Box Slow Down My Pc?

virtual box virus slowdown

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 abderrahim

abderrahim

CC Resident

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, PHP, Perl, Pascal, Assembly, Haskell
  • Learning:C, Java, PHP, JavaScript, PL/SQL, Assembly, Haskell

Posted 22 June 2012 - 03:01 AM

Hi every body,
I'm a real beginner in virtualisation softwares, so here is my problem
I'm running Windows 7 and linux Ubuntu in a dual boot, I also have Virtual Box installed in Windows 7, and I need to run some bad files (viruses, trojans...) in Windows 7, not the original, but the guest, wich will probablly slow down my host system (I'm using the default memory size which Virtual Box suggest to allocate, I need Virtual Box to move foreword and back in the history of VM's state, so here is a recap in the Screenshot:
Screenshot from 2012-06-22 11:56:08.png
Thank you in advance.
Sorry about my weak English

#2 Davide

Davide

CC Devotee

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 484 posts

Posted 22 June 2012 - 05:26 AM

Yes, your PC would have to run both the host and the guest at the same time.

It would run a lot faster in a dual boot but it would be more uncomfortable, that is the point of the Virtual Box.
Are you a newbie programmer trying to learn C#? Check out my small tutorial: Visual C# Programming Basics

#3 abderrahim

abderrahim

CC Resident

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 22 June 2012 - 05:45 AM

ok thank you,
I guess there is no solution to run malwares in a virtual space without installing another OS? or a program similar to deepfreeze (windows) to recover the system's state when needed?? is there?

#4 Luthfi

Luthfi

CC Leader

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1320 posts