Jump to content




Recent Status Updates

  • Photo
      18 Aug
    KodeKool

    When faced with a wall of errors and no hope to fix them, remember the following "Programs always do what you tell them to, and seldom what you want them to, but eventually you'll run out of things that can go wrong and it'll just work. and that's the secret to good programming."

    Show comments (2)
  • Photo
      11 Aug
    Error

    Should I be practicing programming every day? I feel if I don't, I'll get instantly rusty or something.

    Show comments (4)
View All Updates

Developed by Kemal Taskin
Photo
- - - - -

Dynamic Number Of Text Field


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Hamed

Hamed

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 09:25 PM

Hello,
I am using jFrame and in my jFrame there is one text field which show number of text field in next step
now I have two problem
1-How to make multi step in jFrame?
2-How can make dynamic text fields? (How to manage values and ...)
3- all data in all step should be accessible?Is it possible?
  • 0

#2 Norm

Norm

    CC Addict

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts
  • Location:Eastern Florida
  • Programming Language:Java, C++, Assembly

Posted 18 April 2012 - 03:12 AM

What is a dynamic text field as compared to a normal text field?
  • 0

#3 Hamed

Hamed

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts

Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:02 AM

Please check my attached file.
at first step user enter number of fields and in second step I show him field.

Attached Images

  • 1.jpg
  • 2.jpg

  • 0

#4 Norm

Norm

    CC Addict

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 396 posts
  • Location:Eastern Florida
  • Programming Language:Java, C++, Assembly

Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:12 AM

See post at http://www.javaprogr....html#post64018
  • 0

#5 gregwarner

gregwarner

    Obi Wan of Programming

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,576 posts
  • Location:Arkansas
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, C#, PHP, Transact-SQL

Posted 18 April 2012 - 05:31 AM

You're going to need a loop. Inside the body of the loop you will create a new JTextField and add it to your container. You can control how many text fields get created by manipulating the upper bound of the loop.
  • 0

ti-99-sig.png
Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.
– Douglas Hofstadter, Gödel, Escher, Bach: An Eternal Golden Braid


#6 Hamed

Hamed

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts

Posted 18 April 2012 - 07:49 AM

How can i manage steps?

You're going to need a loop. Inside the body of the loop you will create a new JTextField and add it to your container. You can control how many text fields get created by manipulating the upper bound of the loop.


  • 0

#7 gregwarner

gregwarner

    Obi Wan of Programming

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,576 posts
  • Location:Arkansas
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, C#, PHP, Transact-SQL

Posted 18 April 2012 - 10:16 AM

With a 'for' loop.

Or am I misunderstanding your question?
  • 0

ti-99-sig.png
Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.
– Douglas Hofstadter, Gödel, Escher, Bach: An Eternal Golden Braid


#8 Hamed

Hamed

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts

Posted 19 April 2012 - 07:37 PM

With for I can manage number of field text but I need multi step form.
  • 0

#9 wim DC

wim DC

    Roar

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts
  • Programming Language:Java, JavaScript, PL/SQL
  • Learning:Java, PHP

Posted 19 April 2012 - 10:03 PM

GUI editor, or code?
  • 0

#10 gregwarner

gregwarner

    Obi Wan of Programming

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,576 posts
  • Location:Arkansas
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, C#, PHP, Transact-SQL

Posted 20 April 2012 - 05:13 AM

With for I can manage number of field text but I need multi step form.


Can you describe exactly what it is you're trying to do?
  • 0

ti-99-sig.png
Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.
– Douglas Hofstadter, Gödel, Escher, Bach: An Eternal Golden Braid


#11 Hamed

Hamed

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 413 posts

Posted 20 April 2012 - 07:14 AM

Please check :http://forum.codecall.net/topic/69390-dynamic-number-of-text-field/#entry627292
Images are clear
  • 0

#12 gregwarner

gregwarner

    Obi Wan of Programming

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,576 posts
  • Location:Arkansas
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, C#, PHP, Transact-SQL

Posted 20 April 2012 - 07:51 AM

Images are clear, but your description is not. What do you mean by a "multi step form"?

I can create that example UI in your post with a few lines of code, but I have no way of knowing whether it satisfies your business logic requirements.

List<JComponent> labelList = new ArrayList<JComponent>();
List<JComponent> textFieldList = new ArrayList<JComponent>();
// Assume 'upperBound' is an int value containing the number of field copies you want.
for (int i = 0; i < upperBound; i++) {
    labelList.add(new JLabel("Field #" + Integer.toString(i+1)));
    textFieldList.add(new JTextField());
}
// Loop through labelList and textFieldList here and add them to your form or your layout manager.
// ...

There's a lot more to it, like sizing and positioning controls, but that's the gist of it.
  • 0

ti-99-sig.png
Hofstadter's Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take into account Hofstadter's Law.
– Douglas Hofstadter, Gödel, Escher, Bach: An Eternal Golden Braid