Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Dynamic Array

beginner dynamic array array

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 RubyS

RubyS

CC Lurker

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 April 2012 - 10:03 PM

Hi all,

I am new with Pascal language. I just learn about dynamic array and always error when using it. Please help me.

#2 Luthfi

Luthfi

CC Leader

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1320 posts
  • Programming Language:PHP, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL
  • Learning:C, Java, PHP

Posted 12 April 2012 - 10:12 PM

Hello RubyS, and welcome (again) to CodeCall!

Dynamic array actually is not specified by Pascal language standard. So I believe you are using Pascal variant that supported dynamic array. I suspect you are using Delphi or FreePascal/Lazarus. But I have to be sure. So before we can continue you have to inform us what pascal compiler/IDE you are using. Also posting your code that generates that error will be very helpful.

#3 RubyS

RubyS

CC Lurker

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 12:01 AM

Thanks for reply. Sorry I dont add more data before. I'm using Delphi 7 and my code:

const
   JmlPerson = 10;

var
   I: integer;
	PersonHeight: array of integer;
begin
   for I := 1 to JmlPerson do
	  PersonHeights[I] := I*10;   [b]<--- always result error[/b]
end;

#4 Luthfi

Luthfi

CC Leader

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1320 posts
  • Programming Language:PHP, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL
  • Learning:C, Java, PHP

Posted 13 April 2012 - 12:42 AM

Next time please wrap the sample codes inside CODE Tag. Or you can select all the codes and click button with picture of <>. It will make the codes easier to read and understand.

Please take a look into this post. Especially for procedure LoadStockNamesFromFile. It contains example of how to initiate and deal with dynamic array.