Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Circle Menu ?

circle menu database tree

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 vladivlad

vladivlad

    CC Lurker

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 April 2012 - 09:57 AM

Hi all,

please - if you could help me or navigate me I appreciate a lot.
many thanks.

I have something like tree menu in Database.

Parent item, a under parent is child.

I would like to display - not in classic way,
Parent item:
- child item 1
- child item 2
- child item 3
- child item 4
- child item 5


but in circle - as on the picture. please note it is list of items from DB, so dynamically created and new items can be added.

Posted Image

Will u please help navigate how to do that?
many thanks

Vladivlad
www.vladivlad.com

Attached Thumbnails

  • tree.jpg

  • 0

#2 Orjan

Orjan

    CC Mentor

  • Moderator
  • 2918 posts
  • Location:Karlstad, Sweden
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Pascal
  • Learning:Java, C#

Posted 11 April 2012 - 10:45 AM

I think this is easiest to do as a image map (http://www.w3schools...ml5/tag_map.asp)
  • 0

I'm a System developer at XLENT Consultant Group mainly working with SugarCRM.
Please DO NOT send mail or PM to me with programming questions, post them in the appropriate forum instead, where I and others can answer you.


#3 vladivlad

vladivlad

    CC Lurker

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 April 2012 - 10:57 AM

I think this is easiest to do as a image map (http://www.w3schools...ml5/tag_map.asp)


the menu needs to be dynamically created, based on how many entries are in DB.
I fear image map is not the best option.

or how to dynamically create image and define areas?

Thank you
  • 0

#4 John

John

    CC Mentor

  • Moderator
  • 4450 posts
  • Location:New York, NY

Posted 11 April 2012 - 11:29 AM

Can you use the CSS 3 rotate property?

.foo {
-webkit-transform: rotate(15);
-moz-transform: rotate(15);
}

  • 0

#5 Orjan

Orjan

    CC Mentor

  • Moderator
  • 2918 posts
  • Location:Karlstad, Sweden
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Pascal
  • Learning:Java, C#

Posted 11 April 2012 - 12:05 PM

Yes, PHP can create images on-the-fly via the GD library, but it's demanding some skills to get it nice looking, but it's all possible. If you, as John says, can use the rotate property (i.e. have a web browser of the latest versions of any type) you can make it with only html5 & css3, then you can use normal divs as menu items.
  • 0

I'm a System developer at XLENT Consultant Group mainly working with SugarCRM.
Please DO NOT send mail or PM to me with programming questions, post them in the appropriate forum instead, where I and others can answer you.


#6 vladivlad

vladivlad

    CC Lurker

  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 April 2012 - 12:39 PM

Many thanks gentlemen.
btw is this attribute also supporting definition of the center of rotation?
for example 0,100 would be x = 0, y=100 | and that would be the rotation center
  • 0

#7 Orjan

Orjan

    CC Mentor

  • Moderator
  • 2918 posts
  • Location:Karlstad, Sweden
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Pascal
  • Learning:Java, C#

Posted 11 April 2012 - 02:59 PM

The transform-origin css property does that. Read more of the transform-origin property here: http://www.w3schools...form-origin.asp with a try-out page here: http://www.w3schools...rigin_inuse.htm
  • 0

I'm a System developer at XLENT Consultant Group mainly working with SugarCRM.
Please DO NOT send mail or PM to me with programming questions, post them in the appropriate forum instead, where I and others can answer you.






Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download