Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Pseudocode problem help?

pseudocode

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 mirror1

mirror1

CC Lurker

• Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 February 2012 - 05:15 PM

Im a newbie to programming n barely started my class but my professor is already asking for too much.. I have other problems to do but this is one of them..

Here a problem
You will need to design an application that it will prompt a user for their hourly pay rate, their hours worked, and whether they are single, married, divorced, or widowed. It will then calculate their gross and net pay. If they work more than 40 hours, overtime is calculated at 1 ½ times the regular rate and displayed separately. If they are married, use a flat tax rate of 15%. If they are single, use 22%, if they are divorced, use 23%, and if they are widowed, use 13% (I realize that these are not very realistic). So how do i write this in a pseudocode and what would be the output? Any help would be appreciated thanks in advance

#2 gregwarner

gregwarner

Obi Wan of Programming

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1586 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, C#, PHP, Transact-SQL

Posted 10 February 2012 - 08:05 PM

Believe it or not, the work is 99% already done for you. That paragraph you wrote above that describes the problem? That can be classified as a type of pseudocode. Pseudocode is nothing more than an informal step by step description of the steps the program must take. First, it will prompt the user for their hourly pay rate. Then, it will prompt for their hours worked. Then, it will prompt for their marital status. Then, it calculates pay by following these steps: If the number of worked hours is over 40, then...