Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

What's the difference between overloading and polymorphism

polymorphism

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jackson6612

jackson6612

CC Addict

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 12:24 PM

Hi

The passage quoted below is from a book. I'm still not clear about the distinction between 'polymorphism' and 'overloading'. Could you please let me know how to differentiate between the two? Thanks.

Using operators or functions in different ways, depending on what they are operating on, is called polymorphism (one thing with several distinct forms). When an existing operator, such as + or =, is given the capability to operate on a new data type, it is said to be overloaded. Overloading is a kind of polymorphism; it is also an important feature of OOP.

I'm an outright beginner, learning C++. Using Win XP Pro and Code::Blocks. Be nice to me, please.:)

#2 mebob

mebob

CC Devotee

• Validating
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, Assembly
  • Learning:PHP

Posted 14 October 2011 - 12:46 PM

I guess you can say overloading is polymorphism for operators. Polymorphism is general to all kinds of functions while overloading is specific to operators.

---------- Post added at 04:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:45 PM ----------

First line from Wikipedia page for "Operator overloading":

In object oriented computer programming, operator overloading—less commonly known as operator ad-hoc polymorphism—is a specific case of polymorphism, where different operators have different implementations depending on their arguments.

Latinamne loqueris?

#3 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

A spammer's worst nightmare

• 17757 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others