Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Get SQL to call a Web Service with secure connection

connection

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 PSmith

PSmith

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 25 August 2011 - 05:11 AM

Hey there I am a Junior Developer and i need SQL to call a web service but it has to be a secure connection as i work with valuable information. Now the Web service I want my query to use is our Competitions, so they must not be able to access our data like our DB's we just want to use that to send out weekly reports. Now i want to know if its possible as I can not change code to the web service, Would it be a waste of time should i just rather create a new app and use a Console app to just trigger SQL once a week then in that console app i take the data convert to a excel sheet and email the data to the clients? I apoligise for my lack of info i am giving you as my knowledge is not that great but I am trying my best to get up to standard as i just came out of college a week ago

#2 sam_coder

sam_coder

CC Addict

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 380 posts

Posted 25 August 2011 - 09:15 AM

You're right, its a pretty vague question. =)

But that doesn't mean I won't be helpful.

Depending on the Database Platform your using, whether or not that is possible really depends. I've never even attempted such a thing to be honest. But I do know that in SQL server, you can run create .NET modules that are exposed as functions or procedures to your database.

For example, it might be possible to do something like this

SELECT readFromService(@parameter1, @parameter2)

The underlying code of course could do almost anything you put the effort into writing.

I have to wonder if perhaps you're looking at the problem backward though.