Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

On my new subdomain, HTTPS is looking at the www root, not the subdomain root....

networking

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 shackrock

shackrock

    CC Resident

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 64 posts

Posted 17 July 2011 - 06:06 AM

Hey all.

Very odd problem. http://subdomain.site.com is properly going to its root path and displaying as such.

However, https://subdomain.site.com, although the url remains looking just like that, displays the content from the path linked to www.site.com. Has anyone seen behavior like this? If so, what could the culprit be?

I'll need some somewhat detailed responses if I'm going to be editing anything in WHM or via SSH as root - I want to be very careful I don't mess anything up...

Thanks!
  • 0
If you enjoy reading this discussion and are thinking about commenting, why not click here to register and start participating in under a minute?

#2 bbqroast

bbqroast

    Codecall Addict

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 564 posts
  • Location:/etc/passwd

Posted 17 July 2011 - 03:12 PM

Well if Apache is running on the same port, machine and IP it will be configured to take the requested address and look through its configs. You have added http://subdomain.site.com but maybe it sees https://subdomian.site.com as a different request and unless an alias is setup in your config files to point to http://subdomian.site.com it can't find a match and just puts on the default site (site.com).
  • 0
Please, write clearly with proper structure. Double spacing makes the text feel un-jointed, Capitalizing Every Word Means People Stop Before Every Word Sub-Consciously Which Is A Pain In The Backside, and use code tags! (The right most styling box).

#3 shackrock

shackrock

    CC Resident

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 64 posts

Posted 17 July 2011 - 05:05 PM

What configuration files are you referring to, and what are the paths to these files on a standard apache server?
  • 0
If you enjoy reading this discussion and are thinking about commenting, why not click here to register and start participating in under a minute?

#4 Alexander

Alexander

    YOL9

  • Moderator
  • 3963 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Eh! Cleverness: 200
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Assembly

Posted 18 July 2011 - 11:02 PM

You would likely need to consult the WHM/cPanel manuals to do this. Essentially it will require Apache's virtual host to listen on a separate port, think of it as the same thing as a normal host listening on port 80, however it will listen on port 443 (SSL) and serve the appropriate content for https://host, which can be the same content as the standard site on port 80.
  • 0

All new problems require investigation, and so if errors are problems, try to learn as much as you can and report back.


#5 bbqroast

bbqroast

    Codecall Addict

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 564 posts
  • Location:/etc/passwd

Posted 21 July 2011 - 10:41 PM

The config files are normally in the Apache config DIR.
If you are on a host contact them (or look through their FAQ/help pages).

It looks like you want to SSH into your server??

Then it doesn't matter about the https as your SSH client just uses the domain to get the IP and then connects on the SSH port (21 I think). To be honest I don't think you are meant to put http/https on the URL (after all that stands for hypertext transfer protocol), unless of course you will be using a web based interface- you would use your web browser such as IE or Firefox to browse to the site login and be presented with a web page with a input box and a output box (plus a ton of styling, probably a logo of the program you use, etc, etc- personally this is insecure and risky- just use a good old downloaded SSH client).
  • 0
Please, write clearly with proper structure. Double spacing makes the text feel un-jointed, Capitalizing Every Word Means People Stop Before Every Word Sub-Consciously Which Is A Pain In The Backside, and use code tags! (The right most styling box).





Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download