Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

C++ How to set stack/heap size?

stack

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 pancakethirsty

pancakethirsty

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 11 July 2011 - 04:43 AM

Hi, I've 2 questions for you guys :w00t:
1. I'd like to know if it's possible to set the memory limit for both heap and stack, that want in my program. I'm under Windows 7 and I'm using MINGW Developer Studio. I was wondering if I could use some sort of command line argument or maybe there's some special function I didn't manage to find.
2. I'm relatively new to C++, so I'm still experimenting. I noticed that including a header file into my source will include the other subheaders aswell. For example including iostream gives me access to both cstdio and cstdlib. The question is : does that affect in anyway the speed or the memory consumption of my program? What if I include all the headers there are? I heard it affects the executable file size, but I'm concerned about memory and run speed.
Thx :thumbup1:

#2 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

A spammer's worst nightmare

• 17757 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 11 July 2011 - 07:02 AM

Stack size will be dependent on the function calls and non-pointer variables you instantiate. Every pointer you declare will also use some memory. You can create a memory allocation class that can limit the amount of heap memory it will return, but you are adding additional overhead to allocate memory, which will negatively impact run speed.