Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Will I need more than HTML?

HTML

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 sciolus

sciolus

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 June 2011 - 07:26 AM

Hello,

I'm new here, and to programming as well. In college, I had a few introductory courses to things like visual basic and Dreamweaver/Flash/Fireworks.

Had I not come across those classes so late in my education, I may have switched majors from communications to computer science.

Alas, things went as they did and I finished my degree on the path I was.
Recently, I've been looking for a sort of hobby. I was struck for an idea for a Web site and decided it'd be the perfect thing with which to occupy myself.

Obviously HTML is one of the necessary components, but I was hoping someone might be so kind as to advise of any other languages I should take the time to learn to properly develop my idea.

Basically, without getting into too much detail, what I want to do is have a site that is essentially two pages. The first is for user input. Sort of like the front page of Google - not that I'm attempting to build a search engine here -- just the name of he site and the space here they can type in their input. Then the second page is the response.
I want to make it so the site randomly pulls one string based on what the user types. So if they type X, and I've written it so that X could be anything from responses 1 through 5, it'll display only one of those five at random. Then I want there to also be the option to post the given response to social media sites.

Let me just reiterate, I'm in no rush here. This is intended to be a hobby, and I understand that programming and Web design are complex things.

So, is HTML alone enough or will I need a supplement language as well? Also, is anyone aware of a cheaper alternative to Dreamweaver?

#2 gregwarner