Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic Installation on windows 7 Ultimate


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Hunter100

Hunter100

    CC Addict

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Python, Delphi/Object Pascal, Assembly
  • Learning:Python, Assembly, Bash

Posted 06 May 2011 - 02:15 AM

Hello all,

I didn't think this belonged anywhere else so where else but the Lounge?

I have attempted to install Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic on my Windows 7 Ultimate machine. Installation is fine and all hardware requirements are met.

However, attempting to play the game results in an error dialog in relation to the requirements not being met. I open it and all the requirements in the list are met except for the OS. It says I'm running Windows 9 (yeah right).

So, I attempt to run the game again and now it's displaying this error dialog:

Conflict with Disc Emulator Software detected. See Home - Sony DADC SecuROM

Then, when clicking OK, the game ends. No gameplay whatsoever.

My friend who has a Windows 7 laptop (not sure what version of Windows 7) runs it fine and has been playing it.

This is an older game so I think that may have something to do with it.

Any help would be really, really appreciated.

Thanks.

Edited by Hunter100, 07 May 2011 - 06:44 PM.

  • 0

#2 dargueta

dargueta

    I chown trolls.

  • Moderator
  • 4854 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, PHP, Python, JavaScript, Perl, Assembly, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Objective-C

Posted 07 May 2011 - 02:04 AM

Mod note: Moved to software support forum.

Try running it in compatibility mode with XP. Right-click on it, properties, and then in one of the tabs there should be a "run in compatibility mode" thingy.
  • 0

sudo rm -rf / && echo $'Sanitize your inputs!'


#3 Hunter100

Hunter100

    CC Addict

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Python, Delphi/Object Pascal, Assembly
  • Learning:Python, Assembly, Bash

Posted 07 May 2011 - 06:02 PM

I've tried doing that but that stupid emulator message keeps being displayed (so I don't actually know if it worked).

I'm not running any virtual disc drives or anything (never have).
  • 0

#4 dargueta

dargueta

    I chown trolls.

  • Moderator
  • 4854 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, PHP, Python, JavaScript, Perl, Assembly, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Objective-C

Posted 07 May 2011 - 06:11 PM

What disk software do you have?
  • 0

sudo rm -rf / && echo $'Sanitize your inputs!'


#5 Hunter100

Hunter100

    CC Addict

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Python, Delphi/Object Pascal, Assembly
  • Learning:Python, Assembly, Bash

Posted 07 May 2011 - 06:43 PM

What do you mean? The software on the disc?
  • 0

#6 dargueta

dargueta

    I chown trolls.

  • Moderator
  • 4854 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, PHP, Python, JavaScript, Perl, Assembly, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Objective-C

Posted 07 May 2011 - 07:00 PM

No, like do you have Nero, Roxio CD-burning stuff, or anything like that?
  • 0

sudo rm -rf / && echo $'Sanitize your inputs!'


#7 Hunter100

Hunter100

    CC Addict

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Python, Delphi/Object Pascal, Assembly
  • Learning:Python, Assembly, Bash

Posted 07 May 2011 - 07:06 PM

No, I'm not running Nero or any other software like that.
  • 0

#8 dargueta

dargueta

    I chown trolls.

  • Moderator
  • 4854 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, PHP, Python, JavaScript, Perl, Assembly, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Objective-C

Posted 07 May 2011 - 07:17 PM

Weird. I'm not sure what to tell you then.
  • 0

sudo rm -rf / && echo $'Sanitize your inputs!'


#9 Alexander

Alexander

    YOL9

  • Moderator
  • 3963 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Eh! Cleverness: 200
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Assembly

Posted 07 May 2011 - 07:38 PM

There may be forums dedicated to compatibility of those games, I would certainly look online if there are any methods already found by some users.

Other than that, I would recommend keeping everything up to date (including Direct X if that happens to use that) and download any official patches the game's manufacturer has created.
  • 0

All new problems require investigation, and so if errors are problems, try to learn as much as you can and report back.


#10 Hunter100

Hunter100

    CC Addict

  • Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Python, Delphi/Object Pascal, Assembly
  • Learning:Python, Assembly, Bash

Posted 07 May 2011 - 07:50 PM

I've updated the game via the update feature included with the game.

What I found weird was it said I was running Windows 9. Also, My friend is running a lesser version of Windows 7 then me yet can still do it.

Do you think it's the zoning on the drive? (I got it from Sydney though, so it shouldn't be that).
  • 0

#11 Alexander

Alexander

    YOL9

  • Moderator
  • 3963 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Eh! Cleverness: 200
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Assembly

Posted 07 May 2011 - 07:54 PM

Maybe so, I would consider you rip the ISO and run it under some secure ROM emulation software (i.e. DaemonTools) if this is legal where you live. Disk protection software tends to fail on future devices that it was not tested or designed for.
  • 0

All new problems require investigation, and so if errors are problems, try to learn as much as you can and report back.


#12 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

    A spammer's worst nightmare

  • Moderator
  • 17757 posts
  • Location:Upstate, South Carolina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 08 May 2011 - 08:14 AM

At a guess, you somehow got SecuROM blocked from installing, which will stop the game from running at all. Higher security could be incompatible with the highly invasive copy protection schemes.
  • 0

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/





Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download