Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Changing content of HTML using AJAX - what if javascript is deactivated?

HTML ajax

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 andershp

andershp

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 21 April 2011 - 01:24 AM

Hi, I'm new at making websites and at web programming, so I'm not quite sure how to do/explain this..

I'm making a website, in which there shall be 2-3 menu links that changes the content of a <div>. I've already done this using AJAX to insert text (HTML) from .txt files. To insert the main content of the <div> (the front page), I've inserted the javascript which loads from one of the .txt files in the head section of the HTML file.
This way, the page loads showing the content of one .txt in the <div> and this content can be changed from links launching javascripts loading from other .txt files (without refreshing the page).

But what if someone whose browser does not support javascript visits my website? Then nothing will be loaded at all, and the menu wont work either.

How do I solve this the best way, so that the non-javascript users will just have the page refreshed on click and so the content will be loaded on refresh anyway?

Thanks

#2 dargueta

dargueta

I chown trolls.

• 4854 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, PHP, Python, JavaScript, Perl, Assembly, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Objective-C

Posted 21 April 2011 - 10:10 AM

Take a look at using the <noscript></noscript> tags.
HTML noscript tag

As for refreshing, I guess you could use a link to the page itself so that the browser will reload it.

sudo rm -rf / && echo $'Sanitize your inputs!'

#3 gokuajmes

gokuajmes

CC Devotee

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 483 posts

Posted 04 May 2011 - 08:03 PM