Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Newb in C#-Double Click in DataGridView

gridview grid datagridview

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 StuPadaso

StuPadaso

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 06:07 AM

Hello all,

I'm a newbie in the C# world and have figured out a great deal of the information that is pertained in C#. What is eluding me is one thing, in one form, there is a datagridview control with a list of items in it. What I want to do is have the user double-click with a cell in the datagridview to bring up a detail form of what that user selected. I've been trying a number of things, with really no results.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

#2 gregwarner

gregwarner

Obi Wan of Programming

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1586 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, C++, C#, PHP, Transact-SQL

Posted 08 March 2011 - 09:25 AM

Create an event handler for the CellDoubleClick event of the DataGridView. Assuming your DataGridView has its default name still, the code will look like this:

void dataGridView1_CellDoubleClick(object sender, DataGridViewCellEventArgs e)
{
    if (e.RowIndex != -1)
    {
        // Do something
    }
}

The RowIndex property of the DataGridViewCellEventArgs object will tell you what row the user double clicked on. If this value is -1, it means they double clicked on a row header, so you want to use an if statement to avoid processing those.

#3 StuPadaso

StuPadaso

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 09:30 AM

Thanks, but how do you bring up the selected record in the detail form the RowIndex property is pointing to.

Again, thanks in advance.

#4 gregwarner

gregwarner

Obi Wan of Programming

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1586 posts

Posted 08 March 2011 - 09:46 AM