Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Apparently I'm terrible at this. [long rant]

nested loop

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ClumsySpelunker

ClumsySpelunker

CC Newcomer

• Just Joined
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 21 February 2011 - 04:07 PM

So I had probably the most discouraging, offensive encounters with a professor ever after my Intro to CS/C Programming lecture today.

I'm completely new to programming. I had my first CS/C programming class 1 month and 4 days ago. My "professor" is a PhD candidate who clearly is not interested in teaching the class. I found our first homework assignment extremely difficult, and spent basically the entire weekend working mostly on one problem that I would not have figured out if it weren't for help on this board.

Our next homework assignment, one of the problems is to create a connect4 game. Now we've had only brief mention of pretty much everything. Every example is lecture slide is in the simplest possible terms (most examples are how to count. How to count using this loop, how to count using that loop, how to count using this function(introduced last week), macro(introduced today), etc...). There is absolutely nothing that would suggest to me that we're ready to write a program like this, but I welcomed the challenge and thought it might be fun.

I thought I'd start with trying to build the function to print the game board. Soon realized that I had no idea how to work with a 2D array. The powerpoint slides weren't any help, our book doesn't even cover what I needed to know. I spent many hours fussing over it which led to thishttp://forum.codecal...-i-missing.html thread.