Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Reverse Engineering Protection

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 mohd

mohd

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 December 2010 - 08:50 PM

I'm new to this, but I'm wondering if anyone knows a good way to help protect programs from reverse engineering and decompilation. I've seen some software but not all of it looks that good and if it somehow works the exe is no longer working or just too slow to do anything, or freezes the computer completely. Thanks in advance!

Edited by Alexander, 15 December 2010 - 09:18 PM.
(removed spam link sig)

#2 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

A spammer's worst nightmare

• 17757 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 17 December 2010 - 07:52 PM

Ultimately, the functionality of a program can almost ALWAYS be reverse-engineered. It may take a while for some items, but the code is simply there. In addition, a decompiler just works. You program is ultimately in a readable form, even though most people don't know machine language. You would probably do better to put your energy into adding features, not obfuscating your compiled code.

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/

#3 Generic

Generic

CC Regular

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 27 December 2010 - 12:33 AM

I have heard only reverse engineering about the .net. We use .net reflector.

If you use .net reflector or a java decompiler you can get the source code if you're disassembling an exe that doesn't run off of some sort of VM you'll get assembly