Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

An .EXE file to launch a html page

HTML

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 warner

warner

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 November 2010 - 07:09 AM

Folks,
I'm not a programmer but I have developed a project to deliver our companies literature on cd and install. Using third party programs, I have developed an Autorun cd that permits our customers to view our product literature as a PDF. This cd utilizes a html page for the navigational interface. I then created an installation version using Qsetup. This has worked fine for years but now due to Internet Explorers security, etc. I am running into some bugs with Windows 7.

I presently use Flash to create a "splash screen" with an actionscript in Flash that targets the html page. Export the flash as an .EXE and there is my executable to launch the html "Home page". The problem is that on some systems the flash is failing to run, hence the user cannot get to the homepage. Is there a way to create an .exe that will launch the html page in a browser? And if so, how? I have asked our IT department and they dragging their feet so I am at least trying to determine if this is possible and the best way to go about it.

I had the same issue with the cd version for it had a flash screen as well. I fixed that issue by writing a new autorun.inf file that targets the html page directly so no flash is needed. The installation version is my issue due to the fact the it has to be an .exe file to open the installed program.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
W

#2 Luthfi

Luthfi

CC Leader

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1320 posts
  • Programming Language:PHP, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL
  • Learning:C, Java, PHP

Posted 19 November 2010 - 10:00 AM