Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Practical C Programming

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Chewie

Chewie

CC Leader

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1074 posts

Posted 05 October 2010 - 07:38 PM

Any reviews on this book by O'Reilly, from a beginners standpoint?

#!CrunchBang Linux ~$ apt-get into it | #!(Statler:R20101205): OpenBox | Like Linux?
“The cure for boredom is curiosity. There is no cure for curiosity.”

#2 Alexander

Alexander

YOL9

• 3963 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Assembly

Posted 05 October 2010 - 09:47 PM

It teaches IDE use and debugging, as well as many untouched features in the moot quality beginner books I had reviewed before, which are useful to a (real) programmer. I would personally purchase it if I had written atleast a somewhat full program before, maybe not absolute beginner.

All new problems require investigation, and so if errors are problems, try to learn as much as you can and report back.

#3 Chewie

Chewie

CC Leader

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1074 posts

Posted 06 October 2010 - 11:45 AM

Any suggestions on how to begin as a total"noob", that doesn't require going to a class( can't afford classes ATM)

#!CrunchBang Linux ~$ apt-get into it | #!(Statler:R20101205): OpenBox | Like Linux?

#4 Alexander

Alexander

YOL9

• 3963 posts

Posted 06 October 2010 - 11:56 AM

This is usually recommended in university (intro courses) for its simplicity but depth
Amazon.com: C Programming Language (2nd Edition) (0076092003106): Brian W. Kernighan, Dennis M. Ritchie: Books

A sample chapter (one of the beginning ones):
http://www.informit..../0131103628.pdf

It's from 1988 but it is in its prime (C is an old language remember, C++ may be easier for you..)

All new problems require investigation, and so if errors are problems, try to learn as much as you can and report back.