Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

What is the advantage of paging?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 DarkLordCthulhu

DarkLordCthulhu

CC Devotee

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Programming Language:C, JavaScript, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Ruby, Others

Posted 13 September 2010 - 05:30 AM

I'm trying to understand how operating systems work. Right now I'm studying virtual memory. Here's my understanding: Memory is divided into fixed-size blocks called pages, which are not contiguous in memory but are treated as if they were. Page sizes are a power of 2. The operating system has the job of finding a page and returning its value to a process that requests it. It does this using the Memory Management Unit, a hardware component that divides virtual memory into pages and stores their virtual addresses. The MMU caches virtual addresses in the Translation Lookaside Buffer (TLB), which is a cache stored in the CPU cache that holds entries from the page table. The page table is content-addressable memory (CAM), which is the hardware equivalent of an associative array, and it contains mappings of virtual addresses to physical addresses. When memory is requested from CAM, it searches its entire table and then returns a value.

So the question I want to ask is, first of all, am I right in my understanding of virtual memory and paging? Second, what advantage does paging serve and how does it improve the performance of a computer?
Programming is a journey, not a destination.

#2 dbug

dbug

CC Addict

• Advanced Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 148 posts

Posted 13 September 2010 - 06:32 AM