Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Partitioning a hard drive using GParted

setup

  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#25 PsychoCoder

PsychoCoder

    CC Resident

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 89 posts

Posted 24 August 2010 - 08:41 PM

I want to know how to resize the Windows partition so I can add a new one. Please don't just tell me to give the whole thing up and try an alternative that I didn't want in the first place.


Take a look at this: Resizing your Windows partition with GParted. But as James pointed out GParted may not be the tool you want to use, most times it is best to use the tools that come native with the distro you're using
  • 0
SELECT * FROM Users WHERE Clue > 0;
ERROR: 0 results returned
Posted Image

#26 Alexander

Alexander

    YOL9

  • Moderator
  • 3963 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Eh! Cleverness: 200
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Assembly

Posted 24 August 2010 - 08:48 PM

Take a look at this:

No one would have an erroneous partition map like that, that guide is purely causing bad SNR. Look harder on google.
  • 0

All new problems require investigation, and so if errors are problems, try to learn as much as you can and report back.


#27 DarkLordCthulhu

DarkLordCthulhu

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Location:The bash shell
  • Programming Language:C, JavaScript, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Ruby, Others

Posted 24 August 2010 - 08:49 PM

Here's what GParted looks like for me:
GParted | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
The partition I want to resize is /media/sda2.
  • 0

#28 Alexander

Alexander

    YOL9

  • Moderator
  • 3963 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Eh! Cleverness: 200
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Assembly

Posted 24 August 2010 - 08:54 PM

Ah, much better.

Delete SDA3 (the extended partition) and unlock SDA2, you can now resize SDA2 by dragging the right side of the bar down as many gigabytes as you think is necessary for Debian. Create a new EXT3 partition after SDA2 and you should be set to install Debian.

You can leave SDA2 alone actually, and just create it in SDA3's unallocated space once it's deleted, it's a good size (15GBs)
  • 0

All new problems require investigation, and so if errors are problems, try to learn as much as you can and report back.


#29 PsychoCoder

PsychoCoder

    CC Resident

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 89 posts

Posted 24 August 2010 - 08:56 PM

No one would have an erroneous partition map like that, that guide is purely causing bad SNR. Look harder on google.


I'm not a big *nix user, was just trying to help :(
  • 0
SELECT * FROM Users WHERE Clue > 0;
ERROR: 0 results returned
Posted Image

#30 DarkLordCthulhu

DarkLordCthulhu

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Location:The bash shell
  • Programming Language:C, JavaScript, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Ruby, Others

Posted 24 August 2010 - 08:58 PM

How do I unlock it?
  • 0

#31 Alexander

Alexander

    YOL9

  • Moderator
  • 3963 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Eh! Cleverness: 200
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Assembly

Posted 24 August 2010 - 09:04 PM

How do I unlock it?


Does SDA2 or something appear on your desktop (outside the GParted application)? There may be a "places" folder you can check too. Right click it and select unmount, then re-read the partition map in GParted.
  • 0

All new problems require investigation, and so if errors are problems, try to learn as much as you can and report back.


#32 DarkLordCthulhu

DarkLordCthulhu

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Location:The bash shell
  • Programming Language:C, JavaScript, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Ruby, Others

Posted 24 August 2010 - 09:15 PM

Here's what happened after I unmounted /media/sda2:
GParted2 | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
GParted-error | Flickr - Photo Sharing!
I still can't resize it.

I also can't boot into Windows, because it needs the two partitions that I deleted.
  • 0

#33 Alexander

Alexander

    YOL9

  • Moderator
  • 3963 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Eh! Cleverness: 200
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Assembly

Posted 24 August 2010 - 09:20 PM

Exit GParted and go into your console, type
ntfsfix /dev/sda2

If I recalled, GParted should have the ntfstools package.
  • 0

All new problems require investigation, and so if errors are problems, try to learn as much as you can and report back.


#34 DarkLordCthulhu

DarkLordCthulhu

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Location:The bash shell
  • Programming Language:C, JavaScript, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Ruby, Others

Posted 24 August 2010 - 09:22 PM


knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ ntfsfix /dev/sda2

Refusing to operate on read-write mounted device /dev/sda2.

knoppix@Microknoppix:~$ sudo ntfsfix /dev/sda2

Refusing to operate on read-write mounted device /dev/sda2.

knoppix@Microknoppix:~$

  • 0

#35 Alexander

Alexander

    YOL9

  • Moderator
  • 3963 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Eh! Cleverness: 200
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PHP, Assembly

Posted 24 August 2010 - 09:26 PM

Then
umount /dev/sda2

ntfsfix /dev/sda2

  • 0

All new problems require investigation, and so if errors are problems, try to learn as much as you can and report back.


#36 DarkLordCthulhu

DarkLordCthulhu

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Location:The bash shell
  • Programming Language:C, JavaScript, Bash, Others
  • Learning:Ruby, Others

Posted 24 August 2010 - 09:33 PM

I remounted the partition in GParted. Now it's exactly the way it was before. I repaired the extra problem I created, but I still can't resize it.
  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: setup

Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download