Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Parametized Query--Filtering a Datagrid with a combobox

combobox grid

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 esco

esco

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 14 June 2010 - 06:30 AM

Hi everyone

I'm still learning Csharp. And its langauge that I prefer to use to develop programs. I'm building a program that utilizes a datagrid control and a combobox. I use the combobox to filter the datagrid based on the region/city. I got this vb code, and its a bit old. And I want to re-write the code with csharp 2008. The coding style has really changed, no more things like 'generate dataset', and there are new things like 'bindingsource' . I have put the code extract that I'm more concerned with, from the attached file:

Private Sub cboCountry_SelectedIndexChanged( _
 ByVal sender As System.Object, _
 ByVal e As System.EventArgs) _
 Handles cboCountry.SelectedIndexChanged

' Get the Parameter object and Set value
 With SqlDataAdapter1.SelectCommand.Parameters
 .Item("@CountryParam").Value = _
 cboCountry.SelectedValue
 End With

' Clear the dataset
 DsCustomers1.Clear()
 ' Load the dataset using the parameter value
 SqlDataAdapter1.Fill(DsCustomers1, "Customers")
End Sub

How do I do this? I've tried I get errors like 'missing directive'
Or do I have to re-write the entire project? How? I've put up the project, and its working except the combobox filtering part

Attached Files

Edited by esco, 23 June 2010 - 04:48 AM.
resolved

#2 Davide

Davide

CC Devotee

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 484 posts

Posted 14 June 2010 - 07:13 AM

Convert VB.NET to C# - A free code conversion tool - developer Fusion - ASP.NET, C# Programming, VB.NET, .NET Framework, Java and Visual Basic Tutorials