Recent Status Updates

• Photo
      16 Apr
    Kadence

If you're reading this, you're on my profile and I know you're on my profile because I'm probably viewing yours.

Show comments (6)
  • Photo
      10 Apr
    Poe

Finally (and hopefully) i'm getting a team together that knows a little of this and a little of that; and maybe all my open source projects that are half written can begin to be released. :)

View All Updates
Photo
- - - - -

Tutorial: How to build your first computer

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 exicute

exicute

CC Addict

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts

Posted 10 February 2010 - 11:59 AM

I wanted to provide useful input to the Codecall forums, and since I'm very new to programming, I thouhgt it would be nice to write some tutorials on something I know quiet well, hardware.

(This is the first of a set of tutorials I will make on hardware, this being how to build a basic computer. Possible other tuts include: Raid controllers, graphic workstations, how to choose the right parts for the job, multi-monitor arrays, liquid cooling, tips on neat wiring, networking TCP/IP basics, how to make cables, ghostcast server basics, and perhaps more.)

The goal of this guide is to give a detailed, step-by-step, set of instructions from which anyone can build their very own computer.

First, a diagram of a motherboard:

Posted Image

Steps in building a computer:

**Note**These do not need to be in any particular order, but to make it simple and efficient I am going to write it as if I was building a new computer.
1.)	Install the CPU on the Motherboard
2.)	Install the CPU Fan
3.)	Install the i/o panel
4.)	Install the Motherboard into the case
5.)	Install the RAM
6.)	Install the PSU
7.)	Install Drives
8.)	Install GPU/PCI devices
9.)	Connect case buttons to motherboard
10.)	Connect Power to motherboard, drives, fans, and devices
11.)	Connect devices to motherboard