Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Analysing a problem case

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Coldhearth

Coldhearth

CC Resident

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 88 posts

Posted 08 November 2009 - 12:19 PM

Hi,

I'm a beginning programmer and I'm learning Java now.
I was wondering if any of you could help me out with the analystic part of programming.

I have here an exercise:

Drivers are concerned with the mileage their automobiles get. One driver has kept track of
several tankfuls of gasoline by recording the miles driven and gallons used for each tankful.
Develop a Java application that will input the miles driven and gallons used (both as integers)
for each tankful. The program should calculate and display the miles per gallon obtained for
each tankful and print the combined miles per gallon obtained for all tankfuls up to this point.
All averaging calculations should produce floating-point results. Use class Scanner
and sentinel-
controlled repetition to obtain the data from the user.

From this we have to make a small working application (exercise in chapter 4 of our book)

My question is how do you best analyse such a problem (text) to change it into classes, instance variables, methods etc...

Tips would be great :)

#2 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

A spammer's worst nightmare

• 17757 posts
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 09 November 2009 - 08:41 AM

Usually what I do is try to solve the problem by hand with pencil and paper. I make note of all the information I had to record as I solve it: those are my instance variables. The processing I do are my methods.

There isn't a single "method" to this, you just get a feel for it with practice.

Programming is a branch of mathematics.