Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Sudoku solver in python :D

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Hot_Milo23

Hot_Milo23

CC Addict

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 104 posts

Posted 12 October 2009 - 01:39 AM

So, this is my first try at this, actually the first time I've even had my code evaluated by anyone else, so here goes:
I'm going to try to show you how I made a program to solve sudoku puzzles in python. If you like you can probably just look at the attached source, im pretty sure it should be fairly self explanatory.
To test if its working i suggest the following:
from sudo2 import *
setpuzzle(actualpuzzle)
If this prints out a solved puzzle, it should be working ok.
Ok
So, where to start?
Some terms:
a PUZZLE-a nine by nine box, sudoku puzzle. Made up of nine BOXES
a BOX-a three by three square consisting of nine square
a SQUARE-part of a box, a socket for a number to fit in.
Each is a list, so numbering goes like this.
http://imgcash3.imag...e=640&ysize=480
http://imgcash5.imag...e=640&ysize=480
The first line in the code is:
import copy #used to deepcopy later
self explanatory?
continuing on:
def checkbox(box, num):  #checks if a number is in a box (num and box respectively)
	for check in box:
		if check==num:
			return False #if you find the number, return false
	return True  #if number is not found, return true
This function checks to see if a number is in a box (num and box). If it doesnt find the number it returns true, else-it returns false. Simple.
def checkrow(puzzle, box, square, num): #checks for a number in a row of a puzzle
	row=(box/3)*3+square/3          #finds row, based on box and square
	a=(row/3)*3                     #used later, put them here for readability
	b=(row%3)*3                     #as above
	check=[]
	for x in range(0, 3):
		for y in range(0,3):