Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

ASCII Tic - Tac - Toe

ascii

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Donovan

Donovan

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Location:Nevada
  • Learning:Java, Objective-C, PHP, JavaScript, Perl, PL/SQL, ActionScript, VBScript, Others

Posted 16 September 2009 - 07:23 PM

I know some people here don't know how to play chess or don't wan't to commit to such a long game. Well here is the start for ASCII Tic - Tac - Toe. I hope this post can be stickied and start a new ASCII game as I am sure people are tired of chess:) Enjoy

LAYOUT:

Code:
|X|X|X|
|X|X|X|
|X|X|X|

|O|O|O|
|O|O|O|
|O|O|O|

| | | |
| | | |
| | | |


The first match will begin right here. I will start as X

| | | |
| |X| |
| | | |
  • 0

#2 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

    A spammer's worst nightmare

  • Moderator
  • 17757 posts
  • Location:Upstate, South Carolina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 17 September 2009 - 07:23 AM

Can I just give the algorithm for my moves?
  • 0

Programming is a branch of mathematics.
My CodeCall Blog | My Personal Blog

My MineCraft server site: http://banishedwings.enjin.com/


#3 Guest_Jordan_*

Guest_Jordan_*
  • Guest

Posted 17 September 2009 - 09:37 AM

lol. What about checkers? Tic Tac Toe is too predictable.
  • 0

#4 Vswe

Vswe

    CC Leader

  • Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1989 posts
  • Programming Language:Java, C#, PHP, Python, JavaScript, PL/SQL, Visual Basic .NET, Lua, ActionScript

Posted 17 September 2009 - 12:24 PM

When playing Tic Tac Toe you can stick to a tactic so you won't lose at all. It's just to block the other player all the time and the matches will look like each others.
  • 0

#5 Donovan

Donovan

    CC Devotee

  • Senior Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 633 posts
  • Location:Nevada
  • Learning:Java, Objective-C, PHP, JavaScript, Perl, PL/SQL, ActionScript, VBScript, Others

Posted 18 September 2009 - 10:13 AM

@Wingedpanther: Yes :)

@Jordan: I know, I went to make a checkers board but got bored :P

@Vswe: Ya, I will go ahead and make a checkers board.

If anyone has a good ASCII checker board, post it:)
  • 0

#6 Guest_Jordan_*

Guest_Jordan_*
  • Guest

Posted 18 September 2009 - 03:11 PM

Just take the ASCII Chess boards and replace the characters with Bs and Rs. :)
  • 0





Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download