Jump to content


Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!


Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Advice me on Linux installation

setup

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 najaubais

najaubais

    CC Regular

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts

Posted 03 February 2009 - 09:25 AM

Please inform me how to install on my old pc with 40 gb hard disk and 216 ram. Inform me is it possible to get the best results with the machine......

I have a intel celeron processor with the above configuration. I am interested in making use of all Linux options. Should I upgrade my computer.. It is a machine with 40 gb hard disc, 216 ram and Intel celeron processor.
  • 0

#2 WingedPanther73

WingedPanther73

    A spammer's worst nightmare

  • Moderator
  • 17757 posts
  • Location:Upstate, South Carolina
  • Programming Language:C, C++, PL/SQL, Delphi/Object Pascal, Pascal, Transact-SQL, Others
  • Learning:Java, C#, PHP, JavaScript, Lisp, Fortran, Haskell, Others

Posted 04 February 2009 - 08:57 AM

Does it have a CD Rom? What distribution do you want to install?
  • 0

#3 Guest_Jordan_*

Guest_Jordan_*
  • Guest

Posted 04 February 2009 - 09:22 AM

I've combined your posts. There is no need to make several posts rather than editing your original post. Do you at least have a disk drive if you don't have a CDROM?
  • 0

#4 moonknight

moonknight

    CC Resident

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 86 posts

Posted 05 February 2009 - 05:10 AM

umm yeah you can run linux good on it if you want just look at a portable linux to install on the harddrive and you should do good
some reommedations are puppy and dsl (though it won't work on mine)
  • 0

#5 zErOaCid

zErOaCid

    CC Newcomer

  • Just Joined
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 12 March 2009 - 02:57 PM

having a 40gig hardrive that would be fine. I only had 20gig partition for my linux desktop running on slackware. :)
  • 0

#6 Homebrewer

Homebrewer

    CC Regular

  • Just Joined
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 28 March 2009 - 08:22 AM

Linux has a smaller memory footprint that windows. I guarantee you that you can use it on your system, enjoy.
  • 0





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: setup

Recommended from our users: Dynamic Network Monitoring from WhatsUp Gold from IPSwitch. Free Download