Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Compatibility issues

hardware

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Oigen

Oigen

CC Addict

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 18 June 2008 - 05:43 AM

Hi guys!

I'm a Linux newbie who wants to make the big step, and install Linux. However, I heard that Linux has all sorts of compatibility issues going on, and I just wanted to ask: can I install it on any computer? Or do I have to have some sort of standard configuration or whatever.

#2 Guest_Jordan_*

Guest_Jordan_*

Posted 18 June 2008 - 04:40 PM

You can install it on any computer. Linux has drivers for just about everything and works on even the oldest of machines. If you need help we are here to help.

#3 chown

chown

CC Newcomer

• Just Joined
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 18 June 2008 - 05:35 PM

What issues have you heard of? Everything worked fine with my installation although I have heard of some rare issues such as speakers/sound not working or wireless drivers not being detected.

#4 Oigen

Oigen

CC Addict

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 105 posts

Posted 19 June 2008 - 01:39 AM

I heard that it's really hard to have 2 network cards in the same time. It's good to know that it works on any computer, tho. I'll be sure to ask for help if I'm stuck.

#5 rumen

rumen

CC Addict

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 102 posts

Posted 20 June 2008 - 09:15 AM

You can install Linux on absolutely any computer or laptop now. Frankly, Linux distros have the default drivers pre-installed, so you don't need to search for them later on.

#6 Tor

Tor

CC Devotee

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 448 posts

Posted 21 June 2008 - 07:55 AM

Yup, some times you will run into some weird errors like sound not working but other than that it generally works.

#7 Oigen

Oigen

CC Addict

• Just Joined
  • PipPipPipPipPip