Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

I need help... What language should i choose!

ruby

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 itsforyou

itsforyou

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 03 March 2009 - 12:24 AM

Hi all!!

I'm a newb in coding, i've done some very simple autoit bots and that's it :P
I want to learn a "real" language, i want to learn how to make programs, php and such is not interesting for me.. (atleast not atm)

The language should not be to hard to learn!
What do you guys think about ruby? As i understand you can make both web and non-web apps with it?
And i've seen debates regarding python vs ruby, rly confusing lol..

Thanks in advance!

#2 Brandon W

Brandon W

CC Mentor

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2092 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java
  • Learning:Java, C++, JavaScript

Posted 03 March 2009 - 02:03 AM

Well it really depends on where you want to go with programming. From what I have read, you are looking more into software development not web development. But with reading what you said about Ruby it looks like you are wishing to do a bit of both. Python and Ruby can be used both online and offline, but from what I have heard Python is the choice. Also with Python, it has very simple syntax which means you could easily learn it.

What languages did you make your simple autoit bots out of?
I've returned...

#3 Turk4n

Turk4n

???

• Expert Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1919 posts
  • Programming Language:C, Java, PHP, Python, Bash
  • Learning:C++, C#, JavaScript, Visual Basic .NET, Others

Posted 03 March 2009 - 02:40 AM

There is nothing called "real" language in my opinion, ever programming language has pros and cons, I would consider the thought, what do I want to do?
Code sites,small applications,databases,games,modeling(programming one).