Check out our Community Blogs

Register and join over 40,000 other developers!

Recent Status Updates

View All Updates

Photo
- - - - -

Animation & Graphics

timer animation

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 danrivers

danrivers

CC Lurker

• Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 25 January 2009 - 10:18 AM

Hello. I'm new to c# but not new to c++. With c++ I'd create a picture box and draw to that (handling transparency using xor & and (with masks)). My c# book is telling me to create a control to do the animation (that I can drag & drop out of the toolbox).

I got this working & created a timer to move the image. This works but is it the way to go? It's annoying as it moves & animates in design mode (when it's not running) which makes it hard to modify.

Is this the way to go about programming games, or is there a 'proper' way to do it?

Dan

#2 TcM

TcM

CC Mentor

• VIP Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7563 posts

Posted 28 January 2009 - 12:15 PM

So it's active in the design mode? I guess that's a bug from your UserControl... now that's strange! I doubt that is the way it's meant to be.. I mean.. in design mode timers arent even active!

#3 Xav

Xav

CC Mentor

• VIP Member
  • 8356 posts

Posted 28 January 2009 - 12:17 PM

If you are using C#, I would recommend the XNA Game Framework, which is designed specifically for game programming.
If you enjoy reading this discussion and are thinking about commenting, why not click here to register and start participating in under a minute?

#4 TcM

TcM

CC Mentor

• VIP Member
  • 7563 posts

Posted 28 January 2009 - 09:01 PM

But he is using some c# book.. so he is just following a set of instructions. I doubt the book is showing you the way to go.. but anyways, what is the name of the book?

#5 Xav

Xav

CC Mentor

• VIP Member
  • 8356 posts

Posted 29 January 2009 - 12:40 PM

In any case, for a book you could get XNA Unleashes by Chad Carter.